Alabama Reciprocal Gun Law Chart

STATE

Does Alabama recognize reciprocal concealed weapons (handgun and pistol) licenses/permits issued in the following states?

For More Information, Contact:

Alaska

YES.  Note: A person 21 or older may be charged with carrying a concealed deadly weapon under AS 11.61.220 if s/he
 

  • fails to immediately inform a peace officer that s/he is carrying a concealed handgun

  • fails to allow the officer to secure the weapon or fails to secure the weapon at the direction of the peace officer, or

  • carries the weapon concealed within another person’s residence, unless s/he has first obtained the express permission of an adult residing there, whether or not the person has a concealed handgun permit.

Alaska State Troopers
Permits and Licensing
5700 East Tudor Road
Anchorage, AK 99507-5800
(907) 269-0392

Arizona

YES


As of September 21, 2006

Arizona Department of Public Safety
P. O. Box 6638
Phoenix, AZ 85005
(602) 223-2000

Arkansas

YES


As of August 1, 2007

Arkansas State Police
1 State Police Plaza Drive
Little Rock, AR 72209
(501) 618-8000

California

No

State of California
Department of Justice
Firearms Licensing Section
P.O. Box 820200
Sacramento, CA 94203-0200
(916) 445-9555

Colorado

YES, with minimum 21 year old age  limitation


After reviewing the Colorado and Alabama laws on the recognition of other state's concealed handgun licenses, it is apparent that Alabama, pursuant to Act 2001-494 (ALA. CODE § 13A-11-85 (1975)), has recognized and given effect to Colorado concealed handgun permits since May 18, 2003, and that Colorado, pursuant to COLO. REV. STAT. § 18-12-13 (2003), has recognized Alabama concealed handgun licenses, issued to a person twenty-one years of age or older, since May 18, 2003.

Click Here for Colorado's gun law.

Colorado Bureau of Investigation
690 Kipling Street, Suite 3000
Denver, CO 80215
(303 239-4201

Connecticut

No

Connecticut State Police
Special Licensing & Firearms Unit
P.O. Box 2794
Middletown, CT 06457-9294
(860) 685-8000

Delaware

No

State of Delaware
Office of the Attorney General
Carvel State Office Building
820 North French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
(302) 577-8400

Florida

YES

Division of Licensing
Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
P.O. Box 6687
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6687
(850) 488-5381

Georgia

YES

Georgia Department of Law
Office of the Attorney General
Public Safety Section
40 Capitol Square, SW
Atlanta, GA 30334-1300
(404) 656-4585

Hawaii

No

State of Hawaii
Office of the Attorney General
Criminal Justice Division
425 Queen Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
(808) 586-1282

Idaho

YES

State of Idaho
Office of the Attorney General
Statehouse
Boise, ID 83720-1000
(208) 334-2400
(or)
Idaho State Police

Illinois

No

State of Illinois
Office of the Attorney General
James R. Thompson Center
100 West Randolph Street
Chicago, IL 60601
(312) 814-2503

Indiana

YES

Indiana State Police
IGCN - 100 North Senate Avenue
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2259
(317) 232-8250

Iowa

YES

As of January 1, 2011.

Note: Alabama reciprocity applies only to handguns and Iowa recognizes permits issued to a person 21 years of age or older.


State of Iowa
Office of the Attorney General
Hoover State Office Building
1305 East Walnut
Des Moines, IA 50319

Kansas

Yes

State of Kansas
Office of the Attorney General
120 SW 10th Avenue, 2nd Floor
Topeka, KS 66612-1597
(785) 296-2215

Kentucky

YES

Kentucky State Police
Legal Office
919 Versailles Road
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 695-6318

Louisiana

Yes.  Additionally, when any peace officer approaches a permittee in an official manner or with an identified purpose, the permittee shall:

  • Notify the officer that he has a weapon on his person

  • Submit to a pat down

  • Allow the officer to temporarily disarm him

Louisiana State Police
Concealed Handgun Permit Section
P. O. Box 666375
Baton Rouge, LA 70896-6375
(225) 925-4867

Maine

No

Department of Public Safety
Maine State Police
Special Services Unit
164 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0164
(207) 624-7068

Maryland

No

Maryland State Police
1201 Reisterstown Road
Pikesville, MD 21208
(410) 486-3101

Massachusetts

No

Massachusetts State Police
Firearms Record Bureau
Criminal History Systems Board
200 Arlington Street, Suite 2200
Chelsea, MA 02150
(617) 660-4600

Michigan

YES.  A licensee who is stopped by a police officer is required to immediately inform the peace officer that he or she is carrying a firearm. 

Michigan State Police
Firearms Records Unit
7150 Harris Dr.
Lansing, MI 48913
(517) 322-5518

Minnesota

No

State of Minnesota
Office of the Attorney General
State Capitol, Suite 102
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 296-6196

Mississippi

YES

Mississippi Highway Patrol
Gun Permits
P. O. Box 958
Jackson, MS 39205-0958
(601) 987-1212

Missouri

YES

State of Missouri
Office of the Attorney General
Supreme Court Building
207 West High Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101
(573) 751-3321

Montana

No. Reciprocity not available due to more stringent Montana laws.


Reason: 2

State of Montana
Department of Justice
215 North Sanders
Helena, MT 59260-1401
(406) 444-2026

Nebraska

No

Nebraska State Patrol
P.O. Box 94907
Lincoln, NE 68509-4907
(402) 471-4545

Nevada

No. The State of Nevada does, however, make non-resident permits available.

State of Nevada
Office of the Attorney General
Old Supreme Court Bldg
100 North Carson Street
Carson City, NV 89701-4717
(775)684-1100

New Hampshire

YES

State of New Hampshire
Department of Public Safety
Division of State Police
Explosives Licenses and Permits Unit
James H. Hayes Safety Building
10 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
(603) 271-3575

New Jersey

No

New Jersey State Police
P.O. Box 7068 River Road
West Trenton, NJ 08628-0068
(609)882-2000

New Mexico

No

State of New Mexico
Department of Public Safety
P. O. Box 1628
Santa Fe, NM 87504-1628
(505) 827-3370

New York

No

New York State Police
Troop Headquarters
Building 22, 1220 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12226-2252

North Carolina

YES

State of North Carolina
Office of the Attorney General
Department of Justice
P.O. Box 629
Raleigh, NC 27602-0629
(919) 716-6400

North Dakota

YES

Alabama will recognize North Dakota's handgun licenses in both Class 1 licenses to persons at least twenty-one years of age and Class 2 licenses to persons at least eighteen years of age. See Alabama Code, Section 13A-11-76. However, Alabama's reciprocity statute, Section 13A-11-85, does specifically limit reciprocity to "handguns."

North Dakota Concealed Weapon Permit Information url: http://www.ag.nd.gov/Brochures/FactSheet/CWPermits.pdf
North Dakota Concealed Weapons Permit Manual url: http://www.ag.nd.gov/BCI/CW/2009Manual.pdf

North Dakota Office of Attorney General
Bureau of Criminal Investigation
P.O. Box 1054
Bismark, ND 58503-1054
(701) 328-5500

Ohio

No

State of Ohio
Office of the Attorney General
30 E. Broad Street
Columbus, OH 43215-3428
(614) 466-4320

Oklahoma

YES
NOTE: Pistol permit holders must (1) carry the firearm concealed, (2) have a positive duty to tell any peace officer they come in contact with, that they possess a concealed firearm pursuant to a valid concealed carry permit from another state, and (3) Any person who is twenty-one (21) years of age or older having a valid firearm license from another state may apply for an OK concealed handgun license immediately upon establishing residence in OK.


Click Here to see Oklahoma's reciprocal gun law

Oklahoma Bureau of Investigation
6600 North Harvey
Oklahoma City, OK 73116
(405) 848-6724

Oregon

No

Oregon State Police
Firearms Unit
3772 Portland Road NE
Salem, OR 97303
(503) 378-3070

Pennsylvania

No

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
Office of the Attorney General
Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, PA 17120
(717) 787-3391

Rhode Island

No

State of Rhode Island
Office of the Attorney General
Bureau of Criminal Investigation
150 South Main Street
Providence, RI 02903
(401) 274-4400

South Carolina

No. Reciprocity not available due to more stringent South Carolina laws.


Reasons: 2, 4, 9

State of South Carolina
State Law Enforcement Division P.O. Box 21398
Columbia, SC 29221
(803) 737-9000

South Dakota

YES

State of South Dakota
Office of Secretary of State
500 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
(605)773-3537

Tennessee

YES, with limitations on Alabama citizens who work in Tennessee. Click Here for more details.


Click Here to see Tennessee's gun law.

State of Tennessee
Department of Safety
Handgun Division
1150 Foster Avenue
Nashville, TN 37249
(615) 251-8590

Texas

YES

Texas Department of Public Safety
Concealed Handgun Licensing Section
Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773-0001
(512) 424-2000

Utah

YES

State of Utah
Department of Public Safety
P.O. Box 148280
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8280
(801) 965-4445

Vermont

No. Reciprocity not available, since Vermont does not require a person legally in possession of a firearm to be licensed, or to obtain a permit to carry the same, even if concealed. Vermont does, however, prohibit the possession of firearms in certain locations, e.g., within a school building or courthouse (13 V.S.A. - Section 4003-4004, 4016).

State of Vermont
Department of Public Safety
Criminal Justice Services
103 South Main Street
Waterbury, VT 05671-2101
(802) 244-8786

Virginia

No. Reciprocity not available due to more stringent Virginia laws.
Reason: 5

Virginia State Police
P.O. Box 27472
Richmond, VA 23261-7472
(804) 674-2000

Washington

No.  Reciprocity not available due to more stringent Washington laws.


Reasons: 3, 4, 13

State of Washington
Office of the Attorney General
Licensing & Employment Security Division
P.O. Box 40110
Olympia, WA 98504-0110
(360) 753-2702

West Virginia

Yes

State of West Virginia
State Police Headquarters
725 Jefferson Road South
Charleston, WV 25309-1698
(304) 746-2100

Wisconsin

No

State of Wisconsin
Department of Justice
Crime Information Bureau
P.O. Box 2718
Madison, WI 53701-2718
(608) 266-7314

Wyoming

YES

Office of the Attorney General
Division of Criminal Investigation
316 West 22nd Street
Cheyenne, WY 82002
(307) 777-7181