Safe Schools Initiative

2014 Awards of Excellence 


The Attorney General’s Office once again received nominations from schools across Alabama to award one school from each of the eight Alabama State School Board Districts with an Attorney General’s 2014 Safe School Award of Excellence. This year, special emphasis was placed on the implementation of our Best Practices from the 2013 Safe Schools Initiative.

Nominations were received between August and September, and in October a panel of judges reviewed the nominations to determine a winner from each of the eight state school board districts.

“The Alabama Safe Schools Initiative Awards of Excellence are presented to schools that have performed exceptionally to provide a safe environment for students, with special emphasis on implementation of the Best Practices my office compiled based on last year’s recipients,” said Attorney General Strange. “These awards are vital to sharing information between schools systems on the best ways to continue protecting students and staff.”

Attorney General Strange personally presented these awards this fall to the eight winning schools. Below is a list of the eight recipients of a 2014 Attorney General’s Safe School Initiative Award of Excellence for each State School Board District:

  • District 1, Orange Beach Elementary, Orange Beach, Baldwin County;
  • District 2, Beauregard Elementary School, Opelika, Lee County;
  • District 3, Lincoln High School, Lincoln, Talladega County;
  • District 4, Northington Elementary School, Tuscaloosa, Tuscaloosa County;
  • District 5, Meadow View Elementary School, Alabaster, Shelby County;
  • District 6, Hayden Elementary School, Hayden, Blount County;
  • District 7, Haleyville High School, Haleyville, Winston County;
  • District 8, Oak Park Middle School, Decatur, Morgan County.

Press Release 

Please note, Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view PDF files. This is a free program available from the Adobe website