Safe Schools Initiative

2013 Awards of Excellence 


Nominations were received between April and June of 2013, and in August a panel of judges reviewed the nominations to determine a winner from each of the eight state school board districts.  Special emphasis was placed on the use of technology to ensure that our schools are safe.

Below is a list of the eight recipients of a 2013 Attorney General’s Safe School Initiative Award of Excellence for each State School Board district:

  • District 1 Orange Beach Elementary, Orange Beach
  • District 2 Pleasant Home School, Andalusia
  • District 3 Redland Elementary School, Wetumpka
  • District 4 Homewood High School, Homewood
  • District 5 Blountsville Elementary School, Blount County
  • District 6 Eastwood Elementary School, Decatur
  • District 7 Leeds High School, Jefferson County
  • District 8 Challenger Middle School, Madison

Press Release 

2013 AL Safe Schools Initiative Best Practices

Please note, Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view PDF files. This is a free program available from the Adobe website